I've set out the provisional TT calendar for 2019, you can find under 'Races and Training' tab. Last season was pretty low participation and marshals were hard to find, there's quite a few changes for the coming season to try to encourage more riders and to ease the burden for helpers:

  • all events are either 5 miles or 10 miles 
  • a majority of the 10mile events will run on a new out-and-back course from Salcey Forest to Wootton
  • for May to Aug, the first week of the month will be a shared event with Wootton Tri club
  • there's also 3 weeks where we share the running with 45 Road Club on their Salcey-Quinton course
  • a couple of the 10mile events will have an option to ride as 5mile
  • as encouragement for less committed testers there's a non-aero event, road bikes only and no pointy hats ...


There's a couple of approval stages before the calendar is fixed, but hopefully there won't be any changes.

I've put a date in the calendar for Tuesday 18th as a meeting to discuss date setting for Time Trials next year. Feel free to suggest alternatives if that day doesn't suit. 


Any input from the more occasional TT riders would be welcome - you can email suggestions to help increase participation to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Read more ...

The Callaghan Cup is awarded on a points basis to the most improved time-triallist over the season. A rider gains one point for every second they improve at the distances of 5,10,15,25,30 and 50 miles.


Closing date for the Competition is October 31st.


Read more ...

The National closed-circuit championship, held at Thruxton motor racing circuit on Sunday 21st October, consists of five laps of the track with a total distance of 11.6 miles.


Congratulations to Murray for winning his age group with a time of 31 minutes 26 seconds, followed by Dave Driver in 2nd with a time of 31 minutes 39 seconds, and John Froud in 3rd with a time of 31 minutes 53 seconds. The fastest rider of the day, out of the 300 strong field, went to Marcin Bialoblocki, a senior with a time of 22 minutes and 3 seconds.

Another successful result for Murray who rode the LEO 30 mile time trial on Saturday 22 September and took the win in his age category with a time of 1 hour 13 minutes 6 seconds.

Read more ...